Conflicting Goals In A Relationship

I’ve dated some great guys in my life.   Guys that were an absolute pleasure to be around.  Guys that made time disappear or fly by.

But a lot of them had one common issue:  They weren’t looking for what I was.

They were fun and we enjoyed each other’s company, but we had very different goals in a relationship.

I was reminded of this yesterday when I was listening to my iPod and Thursday by Jim Croce came on.

Part of the song says that he knew the relationship would have to end because he was looking for a lifetime lover and she was looking for a friend to be there after all the other men had gone.

It’s easy to spend far too much time hung up on someone like that.  Because, at least for me, I don’t click with most people.

I get along with people just fine, but there are very few people in this world that I truly enjoy spending hours with.

And one of the most difficult choices to make is to walk away from someone you do click with when you realize that the relationship will never be what you want it to be.

But it really is the best thing to do.  Because you have to be open to finding that person that will be all you want and you can’t be open when you’re holding onto a relationship that really doesn’t meet your needs.

Leave a Reply

